Chintz Cup N Saucer

cups I came up with this design myself.  I had purchased the tumbler die for the Accuquilt fabric cutting system, and wanted a design that was not just simple tumbler blocks.  I conjured up the idea of a cup and handle that was not complicated like paper piecing.  My first thought was ric rac from Grandmas stash.  It was a great concept!  So this quilt is one moda charm pack of the simplicity fabric line by 3 sisters.

My next thought was, how to display each block…..I dreamed up a China cabinet.  Second I needed a wall paper fabric and managed to pull it out of my stash.  Next, how to quilt it.  Most hutches are wooden.  My hutch was yellow, so a painted wood pattern it became.  Perusing Pinterest I learned the wood grain technique.  Then I wanted each cup and saucer to be a hodge pudge unmatched set.  So each cup has its own quilted design.  Ditto for the saucers.  Some of the handles are repeats, but placed in a different shape.  My first true design from start to finish!  And I estimate there is approximately 1700 yards of quilting.  And it Gifted nicely to my Great Aunt.

 

fornadq1

 

2 thoughts on “Chintz Cup N Saucer

Leave a Reply

