The Luxury of Modern Day Quilting

via Daily Prompt: Luxury

Pictured Above is a baby sized quilt.  The three dimensional flowers instructions are described in the book called Fantastic Fabric Folding by Rebecca Watt.

This quilt was pieced by me with no plan in the beginning.  I made oodles and oodles and flowers and realized a quilt of just flowers was not going to work because they would have to be staggared and have fabric strips sewn in between so the petals of one flower would not crown another.  I decided on the simple 9 patch block.  Then I found out my coworker was having a baby within 6 weeks and I was already in process of two other quilts for co-workers expecting.   So instead of panicking I decided to keep it simplistic.  I happened to have a bolt of purple was I was ready to use up in its entirety because it had been lingering in my stash for years.  Once all the 9 patches were stitched I decided to make a grid and fill in every other block with just plain purple fabric.  But it needed a bit more so I snowballed those blocks which created the butterfly effect.  I thought that was something that would go with the flowers and proceeded with my unplan.  Then I sewed all the blocks together and realized how small it was going to be.  Since I had so many flowers left over I decided to corner the quilt with flowers as I had somewhat planned in the beginning to do.  I quilted the snowballed patches with mums and verigated thread.  On the borders a lattice design was a must.  The mother to be was delighted.

A few months have past and several other baby quilts have been made it got me wondering about my hobby and the luxury of it.  Today there are all kinds of tools, templates, videos, books, fabrics, sewing machines and quilting machines too to get the job done (oh and the internet).  Let’s travel back in time say 100 years.  All modern conveniences were just being born.  Homes with electricity, a luxury, for the ones who could afford the electric sewing machine, or those with the treadle machines.  And just pressing of the cloth if you did not have electricity would mean going out and either chopping wood or getting some from the pile to put in the wood stove to warm up the sad iron.  Oh and fabric if you could afford new stuff, worn out shirts and such if you could not.  You would cut all your pieces by scissors or by ripping the fabric so accuracy would not be as precise.    As a young quilter I would not have had time back then.  Families were big and all those diapers needed washing and of course no going out to eat so all the cooking and cleaning had to be tended.  Let alone the garden needed to be harvested for the food.  Simpler ways but hard work.  So, the luxury of our time is wondrous.  It gives us so much free time for our hobby.  A machine that washes dishes for you, and a machine that washes clothes for you.  A machine that refrigerates your food.  A stove that can just be turned on without thought of where the energy comes from.  An indoor toilet!  The internet!

So modern day quilting is not hard.  The amount of hobby chores you can get done as compared to 100 years ago is 10 fold.  I can cut many many pieces of fabric in an hour with very precise straight edges, or curved edges for that matter.  I can give my machine full throttle and sew lightning fast with minimal calories burned.  I can iron by just plugging it in and turning it on.  An hours time of hobby-ing today is probably worth several hours 100 years ago.  Hobby-ing in the fast lane!  For all you quilters out there who may be having a hard time with your project, keep on a trucking.  Just think of all the luxuries you have to get you where you want to go.

 

3 thoughts on “The Luxury of Modern Day Quilting

  1. This does not look simplistic to me! It is beautiful and your co-workers must be so glad they are working with someone so talented and generous in welcoming their babies!

    It is lovely also to read your thoughts of gratitude for all we have. I am sure they must leave a little aura of gratitude and joy in the quilt! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

