Duck….Duck….Sock?!

While doing my evening pinterest interaction last weekend, I wondered aloud what one does with mis-matched socks.  So I typed that into the search on pinterest and pleasantly came across many critters sewn out of non-mated socks.

After looking at my children’s socks, I decided not to use theirs.  Children are hard on socks and they look rather…er….dinghy.  Is is lack of a great laundry maiden?  I don’t think so, they can get grime into the smallest of crevices.  So I went to my sock drawer knowing all of mine have mates, but as an adult, I wear my socks until they wear out, and these would not make the cutest sock stuffies.  So, I moved onto goodwill.  Goodwill had lots of socks mated and in great condition (better than the ones here….go figure).  And so using the methods called out in Sockology by  Brenna Maloney I was able to create some ducks, and some not so duck looking ducks.ducks3

This is her second book and I think I read in the book there is a third coming.  Here are the ducks on the front cover of her book.  Very ducky looking with all their color vastness.

Below are my first and second ducks and both were done within an hour or so.  The first one which is pale green looks like a duck on the top end, but on the southbound end, the tail got lost in the stitching.  Kind of a handicapped duck who lost his tail in an accident.  So the next sock stuffie I created, I nailed the tail but did not make the beak long enough so it looks more like a wren.  I like the unusual-ness you can create with weirdly colored socks.  This will be a big hit during playtime at my house with the imagination of stories created by young’ins.

ducks1ducks2

2 thoughts on “Duck….Duck….Sock?!

Leave a Reply

