Scrap Happy June 2024

Hello my peoples! It has been a flurry of scraps this past month. I will recap and show a new scrappy project debut. (Actually since I failed to post last month, this is from the past two months). First, you may notice I have rebranded the blog. I may change my format all together, but the logo is new. I was going for scrappy and it turned out to look like the old MTV scrappy LOL. Let me know what you think.

This post has me thinking about the definition of scrap and I have determined that a scrap (to me) is anything that is fabric except if you have a bolt of fabric. Every bit of this fabric was once part of a bolt. Regardless if it was yardage as in the rail fence above which is one yard of each color, or if it was nitty gritty scraps of reds and blues in the patriotic flag quilt. I am slowly using up my bits and bobs of fabric and after doing a search for a specific color last week realized that my yardage pieces of one yard or greater is quite diminished. My fat quarter drawer had so much room in it, it is now a dual drawer of neutrals with the fat quarters. My Kaffe drawer is full, but it is full of much smaller pieces. My tub of large yardage size pieces has even become sparse. I have sewed up the stash to the point of replacement! This is exciting and terrifying. Why you ask? Well I know how much I had spent on that fabric previously. And Now, I know it will cost much much more!

The quilt along blocks have started back up with regularity again (sorry for my delay on that). Here are a few you may not have seen, all made from the baggies of scraps I have. (The baggies are the ones that never seem to deplete themselves),

And remember for each of these blocks above, I am actually making 2 (which the secret will be revealed at the end of the QAL.) Again the secondary blocks are all made from scraps but totally different. If you are interested in the free patterns from these blocks make sure to check the link for all the blocks posted as of today. Another block is scheduled to post tomorrow. There are valuable paper templates that can be downloaded to help you with the cutting of the funny measurements.

Last weekend I saw an amazing scrappy project on youtube. Here is that video:

Laura Lynn put the cutting instructions in the description of the video. So, my thinking, I was needing to make a baby quilt for a little girl. And I new I had all the scraps necessary for the make. This was a quick project and turned out sew cute! I can’t wait to quilt this up and gift to the expecting parents.

I will say that I think the brown center measurement is off and should be 10 1/2 inches square. And yes, I turned one of the leaves wrong, but I doubt the parents nor the baby will even notice. And keeping the seam ripper at rest is delightful, lol!

Now onto the newest, most scrappy project. I do not know what I am going to call this? This is just some 4 patches with clever assignment of a couple neutrals here and there. I love this quilt pattern and the sparkle it gives my eye. Forgive me, I have not ironed a thing, I was in the throws of scraps flying and have procrastinated on ironing for the last couple of projects (sunflower too).

You can clearly see it is the same block over and over because they are not flat on the design wall. I dug into my 2 inch scrap tub and pulled out all the neutrals, blues, greens, and turquoise. The hardest part of this is the layout, very hard to lay this out because my eyes get lost and cannot find the pattern close up. I have to keep referring to my photo to figure out where I am going with placement.

This quilt is perfect for my scrap bins. This could also be made from my 1 1/2 inch bin and my 2 1/2 inch bin. I presume one day I will make this with reds and pinks and maybe orange.

Tilda fabrics has published a new pixelated pattern for an “embroidery quilt”. I placed a couple orders last week for fabric and got the whole shebang cut minus the background squares. ( I reckon I cut over 4500 squares for this in a matter of about 2 days) I used my slotted ruler by June Taylor which cut 80 squares of fabric in a matter of about 2 minutes. Faster than the accuquilt. I love this ruler, but it slips, so I may invest in the one that creative grids has. It can certainly turn a scrap pile into a bunch of squares very quickly.

My scrap piles still has many quilts to go, but I am using it up and when you use those little bits and bobs, it is very satisfying because it is like making a quilt with no cost. And that is most friendly to my economics these days!

Make sure to check out all the bloggers and their use of scraps in other ScrapHappy posts. Thank you Kate and Gun for keeping the scrappy ideas flowing for us all!

KateGun, EvaSue, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy,  Tracy, 
JanMoira, SandraChrisAlys,
ClaireJeanDawnGwen,
Sunny, Kjerstin, Sue LVera, 
Ann, Dawn 2, Carol, Preeti,
NóilinVivKarrin, Amo, Alissa
Lynn, Tierney, Hannah, and Maggie

3 thoughts on “Scrap Happy June 2024

  1. I like your new logo! I´m also a fan of using small squares and combining them with larger squares. I have so many of them and ond day they will come together in one quilt 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment