Road to California Variation ~ Block 45 ~ QAL

Hello friends! Today I bring you the Road to California Block with a variation. This block is not difficult but has many small pieces, so set aside time to make this one.

So most of this is 2 1/2 inch units. But, you will need to print off the templates because the 9 patch squares have a funny measurement that is not included on my ruler. If you have printed the templates the A square is 2 1/2 inches.

This block will also utilize your easy angle ruler by making 4 cuts with right sides together of the green and white. While this block has easy units to build, precision is key. After I made my 9 patches I ended up trimming them down to 2 1/2 inches. That funny measurement got me, and so my accuracy wained.

Here is how my block turned out.

I actually enjoyed making this block. I can again imagine a whole quilt full of scrappy blocks made using this block motif. And for those of you who are just learning of the free blocks in this quilt along, it is never too late to start. I am linking all my posts here, so all the blocks are in one place. Please bookmark this page incase I forget to link. And if you use my color way, here is what the quilt will look like at the end. This is a more advanced quilt build. The Chinese Checkers block with the black background and the block below it, as well as all the curved piecing are very advanced blocks. So, a little transparency if you start this project.

Please reach out and ask questions, I will try to get back to you quickly. And thank you for your support!

Leave a comment