Fruit Basket ~ Block 40 ~ QAL

It has been a hot minute since my last post for the free pattern quilt along. Todays block is the fruit basket block. *disclaimer I done my block in the wrong colorway! Sometimes I just don’t have my thinking cap on.

Proceed in which ever colorway you like. I failed to do mine in the assigned color in the legend. But, I am not redoing it because this was pretty labor intensive.

Step one download the templates. I would utilize all the templates. And yes, I have verified these are accurate. Step 2 cut out all your pieces. For reference I have written the sizes or approximate sizes on the pieces. Again, use the templates solely for this block.

Make your HSTs for the handle of the basket. These are a funny measurement.

Step 3 After making your HSTs it is necessary to use template G and trim them down to that weird size.

Step 4 Layout your pieces. The remaining steps I did, I probably would have changed up just a tad and sewn the center HST together before joining the handle. Follow the pictures step by step and sew your pieces.

And now just sew those remaining corners. This was pretty labor intensive but not hard.

Viola!

And for those of you who are here for the first time, you can go fetch all the blocks. Click this link to get to the rest of the quilt along free patterns/links.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog!

Leave a comment