Scrap Happy April 2024

My goodness this past month has flown by. I have been very busy in the quilting aspect of things. I got my Mona Lisa quilt completed. We all know the original Mona Lisa was not that beautiful, but she is still a work of art. This process is outlined in the second half of the first video, and all of part2 video.

Basically this is a gob of raw edge scraps just thrown onto the longarm in no particular pattern which then gets encapsulated with organza. This is great for orphan blocks that are not the same size or very strange shaped scraps. This works for the straight cuts and such too.

I chose to quilt this with uneven spaced lines. It adds a modern touch to this scrappy event.

And to look at the quilt as a whole really looks like abstract art. I am not a fan of abstract art, but really like how the dark colors are softened with the organza and how artsy fartsy this looks because that is not my style. I created something abnormal for me. I used about 4 gallons of scraps. I could probably make this repeatedly for about 15 quilts.

And here is the completed quilt. And yes, I am calling this less than pretty girl, Mona Lisa. She is not much to look at, but she is a work of abstract art. HAHA.

This has me brainstorming about my half square triangles. If I just press them open I could do this and not have to square them up, nor make them all measurably the same size. Hmmm…the gears are turning.

Additionally I got back to some scrappy swap squares from 2019. I took those 9 patches and made them into stars. There were not very many in the swap, but I wanted a quilt of usable size. So I put those scraps to use. The center 9 patches of the stars were from a TOGA (treadle on gathering academy) retreat and each of those blocks is signed and the vintage machine listed. I hold these very special as the group moved to a different location which I can attend, it just is farther away….one day.

I am also digging through my Kaffe Fasset and cutting those down into precut sizes and using those up. Even though they are on the large size of scraps, I guess everyone defines the size of the scrap themselves. It is alot like a personal 1/4 inch LOL.

I have been busy busy. And I am on the planning committee this year for our annual quilt hop. This will be some scrappy quilt patterns when the time comes I will make sure to share that design too.

Be sure to check out all the scrap happy loveliness below by clicking the links. And thank you for reading my blog!

KateGun, EvaSue, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid,  Tracy, 
JanMoira, SandraChrisAlys,
ClaireJeanDawnGwen,
Sunny, Kjerstin, Sue LVera, 
Ann, Me, Carol, Preeti,
 VivKarrin, Amo, Alissa
Lynn, Tierney and Hannah

11 thoughts on “Scrap Happy April 2024

  1. The Mona Lisa quilt is fun, and I feel the texture really adds to the overall abstract effect. I don’t have a longarm, so doing something like this is outside my capabilities, but it does make me think how I could achieve something similar on a small scale…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment